Multiple Teams · 2018 Amherst Athletic Hall of Fame Weekend: February 9th & 10th

It is with Comet Pride that the Committee for the Amherst Athletic Hall of Fame announces its 2nd class of inductees.  Induction weekend for the Class of ’18 will be February 9th & 10th, 2018.  The class will be introduced at the Boys Basketball game with Avon Lake on Friday, February 9th, with a formal ceremony to be held on Saturday, February 10th at 6:30 pm in the Main Gym of Steele High School.

The class is made up of six Individuals and one team:  Dick Elsasser, Jake Percival, Lacey Reichert, Christine Thompson, Brian Tutkovics, Glen “Sonny” Wilburn, and the 1977 Boys Cross Country Team.

Dick Elsasser was the Track & Field Coach at Steele from 1990-2005 and the Boys Cross Country Coach at Steele from 1994-1996. He Coached the 2001 Boys Track & Field Team to a State Runner-up finish. He coached his 1995 Boys Cross Country Team to a 5th Place Finish at the State Meet. He coached five individual Division I State Track & Field Champions, 11 Girls and two Boys to individual Regional Championships, and 25 Girls and 16 Boys individual District Championships. Mr. Elsasser’s Boys Track & Field Teams were Southwestern Conference (SWC) Champions seven times and his Girls Track & Field Teams won three SWC Championships. He is a 1985 Inductee to the Elyria Sports Hall of Fame, a 1999 Ohio Association of Track and Cross Country Coaches Hall of Fame inductee, and a 2012 Lorain County Track and Field Hall of Fame Inductee.

Jake Percival was a Wrestling standout at Steele (1996-2000). He was a four-time placer at the OHSAA State Wrestling Meet, including a State Championship as a Senior. He finished third in 1997 and Runner-up in 1998 & 1999.  Jake was named the Asics Top Wrestler in the Nation after his senior season, and took 3rd Place at the NHSCA Senior National Tournament in 2000. As a senior he won titles at the prestigious Walsh Jesuit Ironman and Brecksville Holiday Tournaments.  Jake went on to compete collegiently at Ohio University where he was a four-time NCAA All-American after finishing fourth in 2002, fifth in 2003, runner-up in 2004, and third in 2005 at the Division I Wrestling Tournament.  He was a Mid-American Conference (MAC) Champion four times, a feat only six others have achieved. He was the MAC Wrestler of the Year three times and Freshman of the Year. He was a three-time captain for the Bobcats.  Jake was inducted into the Ohio University Hall of Fame in 2010.

Lacey Reichert was a Softball, Girls Basketball, and Volleyball star at Steele (1996-2000), earning a total of ten varsity letters.  As a softball player she was First Team All-Ohio twice (1999 & 2000) and Second Team All-Ohio once (1998). She was First Team All-SWC, Lorain County, and Northeast All-Ohio three times.  She was a World Fastpitch All-American, Lorain County Miss Softball,  SWC MVP, Elyria Chronicle, Lorain Morning Journal, Cleveland Plain Dealer, and Cleveland Indians High School Softball Player of the Year as a Senior. In Girls Basketball Lacey was Honorable Mention All-Ohio once and Special Mention twice. She was First Team All-SWC three times and First Team all Lorain County three times.  Lacey attended Youngstown State University to play softball where she started a school record 198 straight games, every game played during her career. She was Second Team All-Great Lakes Region in 2004 and a two time Co-Captain her Junior and Senior Seasons.

Christine (Thompson) Detweiler was a Cross Country and Track & Field star at Steele (1993-97). She was All-Ohio Six Times in Cross Country and Track.  She was a State Runner-up in the 800m in 1995, and finished third at State in the 1600m and was a member of the sixth place 4x800m Relay Team in 1997.  She is only one of three female athletes from Steele to qualify for the State Cross Country Meet all four years, and one of four from Steele to qualify for the State Track & Field Meet in three events. She won the 1600m at the Midwest Meet of Champions in 1997. Christine is one of only four girls in conference history to win a SWC Individual Cross Country Championship three times. She was a member of three SWC Cross Country Team Championships.  She was a Conference MVP four times:  Once in Track & Field and three times in Cross Country.  Christine attended Bowling Green State University where she continued her Cross Country and Track & Field Careers. She finished in the Top 10 twice at the Mid-American Conference Cross Country Meet, and won the All-Ohio Cross Country Meet in 1998. She was the Mid-American Conference Freshman of the Year, and finished her career fifth in school history in the 1500m and eighth in the 800m.

Brian Tutkovics was a Baseball Standout at Steele (1985-1989). Brian was the first Comet baseball player to be named First Team All-Ohio.  He had a 17-4 career record, and ranks third all-time at Steele with 192 career strikeouts. He was twice named SWC MVP and First Team All-SWC.  Brian went on to compete for Kent State University where he was part of three MAC Championship Teams.  In 1993 he was named Honorable Mention All MAC after finishing 14th in NCAA Division I with a 1.97 ERA.  Brian was a 2007 Lorain County Sports Hall of Fame Inductee.

Glen “Sonny” Wilburn was a Cross Country and Track & Field Standout at Steele (1969-73). He was the 1971 State Boys Cross Country Champion, and followed that up with a fourth place finish in 1972 at the Boys State Cross Country Meet.  In Track & Field he was All-Ohio twice, including a second place finish in the two-mile.  At the 1972 Lorain County Meet Sonny won the 1600m, setting the school record with a time of 4:13.7 that still stands today. Sonny attended Lincolnland Community College, where was the National Champion in the Six Mile Run as a freshman at the National Junior College Championship.  He followed that up with a Runner-up finish as a sophomore in the Three Mile Run.  He won the 1983 Cleveland Heart-A-Thon Half Marathon. Sonny was a 2013 Lorain County Track & Cross Country Hall of Fame Inductee.

The 1977 Boys Cross Country Team won the OHSAA State Championship, the second team title in school history. The team was coached by Hall of Famer Richard S. Cooley and consisted of Doug Drew, Rich Kapronica, Jack Malin, Scott Mudrich, Denis Schneider, Mike Sitton, and Jim Welte.  The team went undefeated (10-0) in dual meets on their way to the championship.  At the State Meet the Comets placed four team members in the Top 20 Individually: Doug Drew (3rd), Jim Welte (6th), Jack Malin (12th), and Denis Schneider (17th).  After High School four members of the squad went on to compete at the Division I level.  Jack Malin ran at Kent State University, Doug Drew Wrestled at Kent State University, Jim Welte ran at Indiana University, and Denis Schneider ran for Ohio State.

For more information on attending the Hall of Fame induction, please click the link below.

HOF Induction Reservation 2018