Comets News · Nominations are Being Accepted for the Amherst Athletic Hall of Fame

The Amherst Athletic Hall of Fame committee is accepting applications for the 4th Class of our Athletic Hall of Fame.  Nominations will be accepted for the Class of 2020 through the end of the day, July 31st.  The newest class will be announced at Homecoming on Friday, September 27th.  Induction ceremony will be held on Saturday, February 1st at 6:30 pm in the Gym at Marion L. Steele High School.

The first three classes have seen 16 Individuals, 2 Coaches, and 3 Teams (all-state champions) inducted.  Those three classes are listed below.

Please help us continue to showcase the great athletes, teams, and coaches who have competed, coached, and succeeded for an Amherst High School. Click here to nominate the next member of the Amherst Athletic Hall of Fame!

Class of 2017
Richard S. Cooley (Cross Country and Track & Field Coach, 1957-81)
Theresa (Feldkamp) Brannen ’01 (Cross Country and Track & Field)
Amy (McKinley) Agrella ’93 (Cross Country and Track & Field)
Jack Moskal ’54 (Football, Basketball, Track & Field)
Phil Parker ’81 (Football)
Chris Russo ’89 (Wrestling)
Sheri (Horvath) Scanlon ’92 (Basketball and Volleyball)
1962 Boys Cross Country Team

Class of 2018
Dick Elsasser (Cross Country and Track & Field Coach, 1990-2005)
Jake Percival ’00 (Wrestling)
Lacey Reichert ’00 (Volleyball, Basketball, Softball)
Christine Thompson ’97 (Cross Country and Track & Field)
Brian Tutkovics ’89 (Baseball)
Glen “Sonny” Wilburn ’72 (Cross Country and Track & Field)
1977 Boys Cross Country Team

Class of 2019
Amanda (Bescak) Carrillo ’99 (Volleyball)
Peter Kummant ’75 (Cross Country and Track & Field)
Christine Molnar ’84 (Volleyball, Basketball, Softball)
Rick Schneider ’96 (Football)
Tom Schoemig ’65 (Cross Country and Track & Field)
1991 Girls Cross Country Team