Multiple Teams · 2020 Class of the Amherst Athletic Hall of Fame

Friday, September 27, 2019


It is with Comet Pride that the Amherst Athletic Hall of Fame Committee announces its fourth class of inductees.  Induction weekend for the Class of 2020 will be January 31st & February 1st, 2020.  The class will be introduced at the Boys Basketball game with Olmsted Falls on Friday, January 31st, with a formal ceremony to be held on Saturday, February 1st.

The class is made up of six Individuals and one team:  Brad Draga, Sue Dziama, Ken Greer, Beth (Huffman) Nagy, Dominic Pellittieri, Norris Smith, and the 1991 Volleyball Team.

Brad Draga (1984-1989) was a football, basketball, and baseball standout, earning ten varsity letters.  He was the VFW District 9 Nominee for the State Athlete of the Year his senior year. He was a three-year starter at Shortstop for the Baseball team, winning Southwestern Conference titles his junior and senior years.  Draga was Second Team All-SWC his junior year and First Team his senior year.  Brad was a member of the 1987 SWC championship basketball team, earning Honorable Mention All- Conference and All-Lorain County his freshman and sophomore years.  As a junior and senior he was Second Team All-Conference.  On the football field Brad was a two-way player his entire career, and was a two-time First Team All-Conference and First Team All-Lorain County.  As a senior he was named Honorable Mention All-District.  Brad set a single game school record with 146 yards receiving against Midview his junior year and finished his career as the program’s leader in receiving yards with 593.  He was the team’s place kicker his junior season setting a school record at his time of graduation with 17 extra points.  Brad went on to attend Northwestern University where he would become a three-year letter winner with the Wildcats.

Sue Dziama (1990-1994) was an elite Track & Field and Cross Country athlete.  She is one of two females in school history to be a four-time State Qualifier in Cross Country. She was the 3200m State runner-up as a senior.  Sue earned All-Ohio status four times, twice in both Cross Country and Track & Field (4 x 800m Relay and 3200m).  Dziama was a four-time Southwestern Conference Champion Track & Field champion.  She won the 1600m and 3200m as a senior and was a member of the 4 x 800m Relay her freshman and sophomore years.  She was twice a runner-up at the SWC Cross Country Championships, both times to a teammate who was a State Champion.  As a senior she was selected to run for the Ohio All-Star Cross Country Team at the Midwest Meet of Champions.  Following her high school career Sue attended Hillsdale College where she was on four national qualifying teams.  She was a member of three conference championship teams.  She also graduated from Hillsdale Magna Cum Laude.  Sue was inducted into the Amherst Athletic Hall of Fame in 2019 with her 1991 State Champion Girls Cross Country teammates.

Ken Greer (1959-1963) was a Track & Field and Cross Country star.  He was the 880 yard State Champion as a senior. On his way to the State Championship in the 880 yard run, he Won the District meet, shattering the record by 3 seconds. He also qualified for the 1963 State Meet as a member of the mile relay.  He was a member of the 1962 State Champion Boys Cross Country Team, who was inducted into the Inaugural Class of the Amherst Athletic Hall of Fame in 2017. Ken attended Eastern Kentucky University where he was a member of the Track Team for a year. He was inducted into Lorain County Hall of Fame in 2019.

Beth (Huffman) Nagy (1978-1982) was a Cross Country and Track & Field standout.  She was a four-time Cross Country State Qualifier, Twice finishing in the Top 10. She was a member of the 1978 State Runner-up Cross Country Team. Beth won the Lakeland Conference Cross Country Championship multiple times as an individual, setting numerous meet records across the region.  On the track, she was the 1980 Lakeland Conference 1600m champion as a sophomore.

Dominic Pellittieri (1997-2001) excelled in both Track & Field and Football.  He was the 2001 Pole Vault State Champion, one year after finishing as State Runner-Up.  At the time of graduation he held the Ohio High School Athletic Association Division I Pole Vault Record with a vault of 16’ ¼”.  This height still stands as Southwestern Conference and Lorain County records.  On the Gridiron Dominic was named First Team All-Southwestern Conference, Lorain County, and All-District as a Quarterback.  He had a 17-5 record as the team’s starter, which included back-to-back state playoff appearances.

Norris Smith (1968-1992) was a Baseball, Basketball, and Tennis Coach at Steele High School.  He led the Comet Baseball team to eight conference championships:  Five in the Lakeland Conference, and three in the Southwestern Conference.  He posted 292 Career Wins as baseball coach in a career that spanned across four decades.  He was inducted into the Northeast Ohio Baseball Coaches Hall of Fame in 2013.  Norris is a member of the Cedarville University Athletic Hall of Fame as a pitching standout, where he remains second in school history for wins in a season and fourth in career wins.

The 1991 Volleyball Team was the first team in school history to reach the Ohio High School Athletic Association State Final Four.  The Comets finished the season with a 23-3 record and consisted of just nine players and a head coach in her second year.  The Comets laid the foundation for what has become one of the premier volleyball programs in the region.  The ’91 team was the first in program history to win Conference, Sectional, and District titles.  It remains the lone Regional champion.  The Comets advanced to Dayton, and lost to eventual State Champion Canton McKinley in the semifinals.  They were led by current Volleyball Coach Laurie Cogan, and consisted of Nancy (Bescak) Geraghty , Emily Cooper, Rita (Foreman) Kamoutsis, Sheri (Horvath) Scanlon, Christina (Missy) Johnson, Jen (Shinsky) Stevens, Jennifer (Solak) Marshall, Heather Zehel, and Holly (Zehel) Preece.

Tickets for the Amherst Athletic Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will be $30.00 and go on sale January 6, 2020. The event will be hosted by long-time radio and TV sports broadcaster Ryan McNaughton (’92).  If you are interested in ticket information, please contact Athletic Director, Casey Wolf, at

Amherst Athletic Hall of Fame Induction Classes

Inaugural Class (2017)
Richard S. Cooley
Theresa (Feldkamp) Brannen ‘01
Sheri (Horvath) Scanlon ‘92
Amy (McKinley) Agrella ‘93
Jack Moskal ‘54
Phil Parker ‘81
Chris Russo ‘89
1962 Boys Cross Country Team

Class of 2018
Dick Elsasser
Jake Percival ‘00
Lacey Reichert ‘00
Christine Thompson ‘97
Brian Tutkovics ‘89
Glen “Sonny” Wilburn ‘72
1977 Boys Cross Country Team

Class of 2019
Amanda (Bescak) Carillo ‘99
Peter Kummant ‘75
Christine Molnar ‘84
Rick Schneider ‘96
Tom Schoemig ‘65
1991 Girls Cross Country Team